Product Review: KQC Professional Mini flat iron

by Bionic Beauty on 31.Mar.2010 · 15 comments

When it comes to choosing a flat iron, the choices are positively overwhelming. If a flat iron isn’t Babyliss or CHI it must not work, right? Let’s face it, some people are styling-tool snobs.

I’m a “more adventurous” type and I can say I have tried flat irons by both those big-name brands and they don’t stack up to my Hana or my KQC. My KQC is the Professional Mini X-Heat Ceramic iron. And when they say mini, they mean it! The flat iron measures a whopping 6.5 inches from tip to tip, making it perfect for stashing in your purse or desk drawer.

The Bionic Beauty blog reviews KQC Professional Mini X-Heat Ceramic hair styling flat iron.

Bionic's KQC Mini pro flat iron

This little powerhouse heats up fast!

Even though it’s so small, it didn’t take much longer than normal to iron my shoulder length hair. I just sectioned it into smaller pieces. There is no temperature adjustment dial, but even without it the iron didn’t seem to overheat my hair. The barrels are slightly curved, which makes this iron even better for packing- you can curl or flatten in one!

The KQC Mini works on standard worldwide voltages (110, 120, 220, 240V). Overall this is a great mini travel iron. My only minor drawback is that I wish it came with a carry case for packing. has the KQC Pro Mini X-Heat Ceramic flat iron for $39.95. Plus, as a special bonus, Bionic Beauty readers can enter the coupon code BIONIC5 at checkout and get 5% off your entire order!

FTC Disclosure: This item was sent to me free of charge in return for an honest review. The opinion in this article is based on my personal experience and was not influenced by any source. I was not compensated for this article. Feel free to read my disclosure policy for more information.

{ 15 comments… read them below or add one }

1 Tashi March 31, 2010 at 2:53 pm

Coooool! I want to get a really good mini flat iron someday, for when I get a new job, just to have with me at the office. Not that I’d necessarily be able to use it whenever I’d like. But to have the option would be great. I currently have a 1″ full-length ghd flat iron (love, love, love it). It was quite an investment, but I was sick and tired of going through the cheapies. The ones *I* chose took much longer to heat up and use, which is worse on your hair. I’m not a brand snob, but sometimes, more expensive items are worth it. Not always. But occasionally. :-) Thanks for the info on this little iron! I’ll definitely keep it in mind. As for a carrying case, I saw a sewing book that showed a project on turning an oven mitt into a curling/flat iron carrying case. I haven’t tried it yet, as I don’t need it. But it might be fun to give a whirl!


2 Bionic Beauty March 31, 2010 at 3:52 pm

Very cool project! I might have to try that! I’m sitting here working on a crafty project right now actually. I’ve always got a ton of them going… just ask my family. ha ha! I made two cases for my Kindle- one out of an old Encyclopedia book and the other out of a leather journal I had laying around. I added padding to both, leather ties, “bookmarks”, etc. I love making cases for things- so the oven mitt idea is perfect. Thank you Tashi!!


3 Tashi March 31, 2010 at 5:33 pm

You’re very welcome for the idea! 😀 I’ll try to find that book again soon at the library, then e-mail you the title and author. Isn’t crafting and sewing fun??!! It’s all so relaxing and therapeutic. Well, except when things don’t go as planned. But hey, that’s life! You deal with it and move on.

I have a lot of fabric scraps, old clothes, and thrift store things that I’m trying to make into new stuff (with a lot of help from some books, as I’m so not an expert). Your Kindle project sounds very cool! How ingenious you were to whip such a neat item. Did you think it up, or copy from a book? Now, let’s see if we can find some really groovy oven mitts for our flat irons! Oooh, the embellishing we could do….. :-)


4 Liz March 31, 2010 at 7:24 pm

I have to admit I love my CHI (but it’s totally an investment, I agree, and I turned a few shades paler when I bought it…), but temperature adjustment is really important for my super-fine wavy hair. As for cases, if you don’t feel like making one (that’s a great idea), you can find them inexpensively on Etsy, or at SallyBeauty (that’s where I got mine). Now, if anyone has advice on hair dryers for fine, delicate hair, I’m all ears!! :)


5 Tashi March 31, 2010 at 7:54 pm

I’ve not tried a Chi, but have seen them at Target. My ghd doesn’t have temp control, but I don’t mind. I just make sure that I swipe the iron fairly quickly over my hair, not squeezing too hard, and letting the iron do the work. There was a great instructional dvd that came with my flat iron.

As for hair dryers, I invested in a T3 Featherweight Tourmaline dryer, again, back when my budget allowed it. I have short, fine curly hair, and *I* have no problem with it. I loooove it! It cuts my drying time down to practically a snap of the fingers, it goes so fast. The tourmaline technology inside is amazing. I know there are cheaper dryers with tourmaline, but I eyed this one for ages, then took the plunge. I’m sure there are cheaper brands that one would like. Some people hate the T3 dryer, as they feel it gets way too hot. Yes, it gets hot, and fast (perhaps due to all of the technology inside — solid tourmaline, as opposed to just a coating, and etc.). But there IS a “cool shot” button, and I’ve *never* had a safety problem with it, never injured myself or burned my hair. To be extra safe after I’m done drying my bangs (as that’s usually only what I dry, unless it’s winter, then I use the diffuser as well), I let the dryer sit for a wee bit to cool. You can buy the T3 Featherweight dryers all over. I got mine from QVC, and the diffuser at the Sephora store. The dryer comes with a nozzle.

Quite a long answer, but I hope this helps! :-) Good luck.


6 Bionic Beauty March 31, 2010 at 9:45 pm

Liz, I have a CHI Tourmaline hair dryer that I ADORE! Totally worth the investment. I got mine from Disclaimer: They are a sponsor here at Bionic Beauty, but I loved them & shopped from them before they started to sponsor here; so I promise that my love of their customer service (& pricing) is true and honest. :) Anyhow, this dryer is absolutely amazing. The cool setting is actually cool air, and it dries my hair in just minutes, and I just need to touchup with a flat iron after. It leaves my hair shiny and smooth. Perfect! It has a variety of temp controls plus negative or positive charge settings and came with a diffuser and the comb attachments.

I have VERY fragile hair as well- I color it constantly, bleach it, and use heat appliances almost everyday. So I’m always looking for the best.

As for flat irons- I also have a mini Hana and a full size Hana Elite that I love. I actually just gave my mini Hana to my sister. I think they are equal to the CHI’s. My Hana Elite- I wouldn’t trade it for anything. It has very smooth plates and came with a nice case, heat-proof mat, and the Hana shine serum (which is another of my favorites).

I also just got a ghd flat iron in from a friend to test. It’s very pretty- black with white flowers across it, but I haven’t used it yet. I’ll let you all know how my testing goes though!


7 Tashi March 31, 2010 at 8:03 pm

:-) Oh, I forgot — Liz, thanks for mentioning Sally’s for an iron case (didn’t think of Etsy! Thanks for the idea!). I got a great leopard-print one there not long ago! It’s fab. A person really must store their irons properly, to avoid getting them damaged. Plus, regardless of how much or how little you spend on a flat iron or a curling iron, you want to protect your investments, especially in this day and age.


8 Bionic Beauty March 31, 2010 at 9:50 pm

Etsy is bad for me… I get all sorts of goodies there! My Bella Swan moonstone ring, my sterling silver mood ring, a variety of laptop cases. It’s always something!

However, I only use cases for my hair appliances when I travel. Otherwise, I have these Ikea S hooks from their kitchen department- I slide them through the loops on most dryers, curling/flat irons and then hang them on my towel bar. It saves major drawer space in my tiny bathroom and also allows them to cool off properly *and* I don’t have to worry about the cords getting tangled or damaged from being wound up and unwound (and wound up & unwound… on & on daily).

I should take some pictures of all the Ikea kitchen organizers I have in my bathroom. I have tins & jars for my eyeliners, mascaras, foundation, brushes; S hooks for holding shower supplies, my face cloths, etc. I had to do some creative organization to fit my daily supplies into my current bathroom. ha ha!


9 Tashi March 31, 2010 at 10:11 pm

Good points, Jami. I never thought of hooks. But I do have a cooling mat for my flat iron (another Sally Beauty find). When I was in college, my gaggle of roommates and I all shared a tiny bathroom, and the house had minimal storage. I bet Ikea stuff would have helped! I’ve never been to an Ikea. Could they be worse than Target in wanting to buy everything in sight? :-) (I hear they have awesome bookshelves.)


10 Liz April 1, 2010 at 7:54 pm

I have that Sally’s cooling mat too… Those hooks sound like a great idea, but since I don’t use my flat iron everyday, I like to keep it stored. And thanks for the hair dryer advice — I’ve been doing some research, but it’s overwhelming!

And Etsy totally feeds my vintage jewelry habit, which is good or bad depending on how you look at it… :)


11 Bionic Beauty April 1, 2010 at 8:02 pm

Liz, I realized I should’ve given you the model on my dryer. It’s the CHI Rocket Low EMF.

I like vintage jewelry too. I’m not a huge jewelry gal, but I do like certain items. Like my mood ring… I wear that thing every day. Etsy is great since you don’t end up wearing the same thing everyone else has!


12 Kristy November 22, 2010 at 5:33 pm

Cool looking iron, just be careful with flat irons with painted plates as they can damage your hair. If you want a quality flat iron go with a tourmaline ceramic plate like on the Sedu or Karmin G3.


13 Bionic Beauty December 5, 2010 at 3:21 pm

Hi Kristy, Actually the KQC is a tourmaline ceramic iron, and also my beloved Hana Mini. I adore both of those irons and highly recommend them. I’ll definitely look into your recommendations when my budget allows (I’m scrimping pennies now, ha ha!!



14 grace January 11, 2011 at 5:53 pm

i bought this mini flat iron to use couple times weekly on my chin length hair and after almost a year of use, it started smelling like it was burning yesterday and then today when i tried turning it on for a touch up, the on/off switch is now stuck. it started making slight sparking noises when i tried turning it on, then nothing. i think this iron is meant for occasional use only so if you’re trying to use it a few times a week like i did, buy a reliable, durable flat iron. thanks for reading guys!


15 Kat January 14, 2012 at 8:59 am

So I’m debating which flat iron I should get. Their are only two I have on mind but I don’t know which is better. Should I get the KQC flat iron or the HANA elite flat iron? Which is better? Thanks! ^^


Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: