Bionic Reviews L’Oreal HIP Presso glosses

by Bionic Beauty on 02.Jul.2009 · 11 comments

L’Oreal HIP Color Presso lip glosses are a packaging marvel. Two glosses in one interchangeable key-ring style holder. Squeeze the color you want and up comes the gloss into a curved lip applicator.


Bionic Beauty tests L'Oreal HIP Presso lip glosses

In theory, the applicator is super cool. I love that you can swap glosses in and out a la MacGyver style, but the glosses themselves are a bit too liquidy. When you release your squeeze, most of the dispensed gloss is sucked back inside.


L'Oreal HIP Color Presso in Classy

L’Oreal’s HIP makeup line stands for High Intensity Pigments. I typically love their eyeliners and eye shadows (especially their loose pigments!). There are some amazing duochrome shadows that surpass department store lines in my opinion; along with super colorful blushes and lipsticks.

The Color Presso glosses are quite sheer. In my color swatches of Classy and Spunky, I applied the lighter “frosted” color of each Presso pair to my top lip, with the deeper shimmer color on my bottom lip. You can see some difference between Classy and Spunky- but not the pigmentation you typically expect from L’Oreal’s HIP cosmetics.


L'Oreal HIP Color Presso in Spunky

That’s not to say these glosses are nice… the scent is really unique! It reminds me of warm spun brown sugar- the kind you smell at the fair. Yummy! And the formula has absolutely zero stickiness. So if you prefer a lighter, liquid gloss these might be up your alley. If you’re a pigmentation and bold lip look lady, grab one of the other HIP lip products.

For another perspective on the L’Oreal HIP Color Presso lip glosses, check out Mo’s review on Mythbuster Beauty.

HIP Color Presso lip glosses can be found at your local drugstore, mass market retailer or for around $13L'Oreal HIP Color Presso lip glosses at There are 10 duos to choose from.

{ 11 comments… read them below or add one }

1 Kirsten P. July 2, 2009 at 9:34 pm

I would love to try those new Loreal Presso lip glosses! I love their HIP line. My favorite is their HIP Jelly lip balm in “Plush”, soo hydrating and not at all sticky!


2 Bionic Beauty July 6, 2009 at 10:19 am

Kirsten, I haven’t tried the Jelly balms yet. Do you like the colors? I’m glad they aren’t sticky. That’s one of my pet peeves with glosses!


3 poonam July 3, 2009 at 3:13 pm

loreal’s HIP line is very good i love thier dual eyeshadows .. havent tried the lipgloss yet


4 Bionic Beauty July 6, 2009 at 10:31 am

Poonam, I love their shadows too! Have you tried their loose pigments and the cream paints? My favorite cream paints are Lofty and Steel. So perfect for quick eye looks. They last forever, go on super easy and don’t crease!


5 Tashi July 5, 2009 at 3:50 pm

I’m satisfied with the more simpler-packaged, cheaper glosses (Cover Girl Lip Slicks, about $4, over applied Carmex lip balm, 99 cents). At my age of 40, I don’t think wearing too brightly-hued cosmetics is a good idea. But that’s only me. To each their own. :-) I do love the Revlon Super Lustrous lip glosses. I love to mix their Pink Afterglow shade in with my Carmex, and something in the pinks or berries shades of lipsticks (from Flirt [from Kohl’s], Revlon, L’Oreal, No. 7, being my favorites). Whatever you choose, have fun with mixing glosses and lipsticks.


6 Bionic Beauty July 6, 2009 at 10:33 am

Tashi, Fabulous tip about blending lip glosses! I have a bunch of NARS lipsticks (as much as I usually like lower priced cosmetics, I have a weakness for NARS and Three Custom Color lip products) and darker glosses that were great for last Fall. Now I’m still loving them by mixing in pink or shimmery glosses. :)


7 Tashi July 6, 2009 at 2:06 pm

:::curtseying::: Thank you, thankyouverymuch. :-) I mix my lipsticks and glosses alllll the time. You’d be surprised at what you can come up with! It usually never results in muddiness or foul-looking colors. There are some higher end lipsticks and glosses I’d love to try, but I can’t afford them right now. Nars, MAC, Mally (I *love* most of the things I’ve gotten of hers in the past.), etc.


8 Bionic Beauty July 6, 2009 at 2:10 pm

Oh no Tashi… don’t go over to the “dark side”. LOL! That’s what I call MAC. I don’t own a single product of MACs. It’s not that I don’t want them… I really do. But I’m such an “against the grain” girl that I refuse to give in to the norm. I’m the gal that always roots for the long-shot, wears the colors that are a bit different, and enjoys finding brands (whether in clothes, makeup, cell phones, etc) that not everyone else knows about and then talking those up. So in summary, I’m trying to the be the last hold out on MAC. 😀


9 Tashi July 9, 2009 at 10:19 pm

A good friend of mine seems to love MAC, but also uses others, like most of us. “Dark side”? LOL Well, never fear. I refuse to even pay $15 right now (but caving is a possibility) for a Napoleon Perdis lipstick at Target. I doubt I’ll be buying MAC anytime soon, unless they have coupons. LOL But the idea of trying its products interests me. For now, I’ll stick with simpler and cheaper, and the occasional stuff not everyone has (I don’t know anyone who uses Mally cosmetics, but I love the few items I got a while back.). I don’t care to be like everyone else as well.

10 lex July 7, 2009 at 4:57 pm

love the idea of the 2in1 colors. very cute and tiny… let us know when you find a coupon for this one!! :) thanks for all you do


11 Bionic Beauty July 12, 2009 at 3:15 pm

Hi Lex, The L’Oreal HIP lip products were on sale at both Walgreens at CVS this week I believe. It was for all L’Oreal lip and eye products. They usually run them at least once a month (usually once every other week) so there will be another discount coming up. :)


Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: