Review: Sally Hansen’s Lip Inflation Gloss

by Bionic Beauty on 12.Sep.2007 · 12 comments

Sally Hansen Lip Inflation Gloss - Product review

Sally Hansen’s Lip Inflation plumping treatment is meant to remind us of the more famous name brands (such as Lip Venom and LipFusion).

The packaging looks similar to the big boys, however after a week of two tubes lying in a makeup case, they leaked everywhere. The “gold” finish on the handle began wearing off immediately. Not big complaints, but they are worth noting.

The tingling was not extreme, actually it was quite pleasant. Smooch partners did not have their lips lit on fire, either (which is always a bonus). Application is via a small brush (similar to a nail polish brush). The lip gloss is quite sticky, texture is overwhelmingly fluid, and the scent is fruity. Thankfully, the gloss did wear off quickly. Don’t waste your money on the “tinted” versions as they all apply clear.

The lip treatment did seem to plump up fine lines in lips a small amount, and the extreme shine took focus away from fine lines.

Sally Hansen Lip Inflation is available at Walgreens (for $6.49).

Overall, Bionic felt this lip plumper fell limp.

{ 10 comments… read them below or add one }

1 Sandy September 13, 2007 at 7:29 pm

Congrats on the BOTD award, and thanks for the free sample link!


2 Laura Lily November 29, 2007 at 10:39 am

I tried it, my lips are already quite full, but it definitely made them even plumper.


3 BionicBeauty December 6, 2007 at 8:21 am

Great news Laura, I may have to give it another shot. Or maybe I just don’t have enough lip to plump. 😉 Cheers, Bionic


4 Cherie December 28, 2008 at 3:36 pm

Had severe allergic reaction to Lip Inflation Extreme. My lips were swollen one side larger than other. The inside of my mouth started to swell. My throat started to close. Thank God my daughter was thinking enough to get benadryl. My face is inflamed, my tongue feels like pepper is on it at all times. I have pictures to prove this. I tried this on Christimas Day, and I have been sick for four (4) days. It is very painful.


5 Heidi June 13, 2009 at 9:32 pm

I also had a horrible allergic reaction to it and have had it for three days now- my lips are swollen and my tongue hurts.


6 Bionic Beauty June 14, 2009 at 8:35 pm

Oh Cherie and Heidi, I’m SO sorry that you both had such an awful reaction to this. I wonder if there’s something in there you are allergic too? That’s got to be horrible!!
I’ve had face reactions before… my face turned bright red and one mask even made my eyebrows fall off and I had big scabs on my skin. NOT pretty and like you both said, very painful.

I hope you both feel better soon!


7 Cheryl November 28, 2009 at 9:23 am

I guess I am not the first to have an allergic reaction to the Sally Hansen Lip Inflation Lip Gloss. I can use it in very small amounts and not much in the same day. However, yesterday and 4 other times before I have used it several times during the day only to have one whole side of my mouth swell up like I’d been attacked by bees inside and out. later in the day the other side started to puff. I started popping allergy pills. Four later my face is subsiding. Very embarrassing at work however. I was so swollen I couldn’t even hardly make proper words with my mouth. Very scary. I thought when it happened the first time I had developed a peanut allergy. Wow. Won’t use it again.


8 Becky July 31, 2010 at 5:34 pm

I do like it but it does my my lips burn for about a minute.


9 s. christy September 21, 2010 at 3:38 am

I’ve used the lip inflation extreme for about 2 years, and started having a mild lip irritation, but didn’t realize that was what was causingit. Not until my lips swelled up to be the size of basketballs, and bright red, with weeping blisters. That was 2 weeks ago. I still didn’t realize that is what was causing it as I don’t use the stuff with any kind of regularity; sometimes 5 times a week, and sometimes once a week. I used it again last thursday, and on Friday I was twice as bad as the time before (2 weeks earlier). I am now using hydrocortison creme and taking an antibiotic so the blisters and sores don’t become infected. After one dose of the hydrocortison creme my lips are much better. Until I started with the creme they’ve been getting worse and worse since last Friday when I woke up with the condition.

I will throw this stuff out, and advise everyone I know to never use it. This stuff needs to come off the market. I see several had problems like mine, and since that’s the case it should be pulled and re-worked.


10 Bionic Beauty September 27, 2010 at 4:00 pm

Christy, Yeee-ouch! I’m SO sorry you had to go through that. Be sure you use some good lip balm on your lips until they get healed up. An ibuprofen (brand name: Advil) could help too.

I’m glad you figured out what was causing the problems though. And thank you very much for sharing your experience here on Bionic Beauty. I always welcome all opinions- good and not-so-good. 😉 I hope to see you around the Bionic Beauty blog in the future!
All my best,


Leave a Comment

{ 2 trackbacks }

Previous post:

Next post: